Awards of Recognition

The NED offers four awards of recognition:

  • Dwight A. Webster Memorial Award of Merit
  • Meritorious Service Award
  • President’s Award
  • Special Achievement Award

Requests for nominations are sent to Chapter and Division officers, Division committee chairs, and Division past-presidents. A call for nominations is sent to the membership via e-mail through the AFS and is published in the Division’s newsletter that comes out in January or February.  After reviewing nominations in all four award categories. The NED past-presidents vote on the nominees.

AFS Outstanding Chapter and Student Subunit Award

We encourage all Chapters and Student Subunits in the Northeastern Division to apply for the AFS Outstanding Chapter and Student Subunit Awards. These awards recognize outstanding professionalism, active resource protection, and enhancement programs, as well as a strong commitment to the mission of the Society. Three awards are given, one for small chapters (less than 100 members), one for large chapters (more than 100 members), and one for a student subunit of a chapter. Chapters and Student Subunits should submit an application to David Argent, Chairman of the Awards Committee, ( to be considered. AFS Division Presidents nominate one student subunit and two chapters (small and large) from their divisions by June 1.